Castle Menzies

LOOKING FOR: Historical, Heritage
ADDRESS: Aberfeldy
Perth and Kinross
TELEPHONE: +44 (0)1887 820 982
Castle Menzies
This spectacular sixteenth century castle, restored by the Menzies Clan Society welcomes vistors. Seat of the Chiefs of Clan Menzies for over 400 years and importantly situated, it was involved in the turbulant history of the Highlands and here Bonnie Prince Charlie rested on his way to Culloden in 1746. Architecturally fascinating, it is a splendid example of the transition between earlier rugged fortress and later mansion house.

Castle Menzies stands north of the River Tay at Weem on the B846, one and half miles from Aberfeldy Open from 1st April (or Easter) to mid October. 10.30 a.m. - 5 p.m. (Sundays, 2 - 5 p.m.)

Admission charge: all proceeds exclusively used for the continued restoration and maintenance under a Charitable Trust.