|Aquariums & Sea Life Centres|
|Educational & Theatres|
|Farms and Animals|
|Heritage & Historical|
|Indoor Play Areas|
|Kid's Activities and Clubs|
|Museums & Art Galleries|
|Outdoor Play Areas|
|Outdoor Pursuits & Nature|
|Sports and Leisure|
|Zoos and Wildlife Parks|
Built in 1894, and opened a year later, the 658-foot-long Penarth Pier is reminiscent of more gentle times and is one of only two surviving pleasure piers in south Wales, the other being Mumbles.
History of the Pier
In 1907 a wooden pavilion was built at the seaward end that became a dance hall. In 1929 the existing pavilion entrance was built.
Tragically, a large portion of the structure was destroyed by fire in August 1931. A dramatic rescue ensued until the fire burnt out. 35 years later, on 20 August 1966, the White Funnel paddler 'Bristol Queen' hit the pier.
The pier is still as popular as ever with visitors and is a port of call for the cruise ship Waverley , the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world. Please refer to the Waverley website for details of sailings.
Penarth Pier Pavilion
The newly restored Penarth Pier Pavilion is open to the public and brings a unique facility to Penarth Esplanade as a multifunctional art and learning building. It boasts a 70 seater community cinema, arts, events and exhibition space, cafe, bar and restaurant and meeting spaces. Find out more from the Pavilion website or Tel 020 2071 2100
Pier Opening Times
Spring and Summer opening times
April to September: 9.00am - 9.00pm daily
Penarth Pier Summer Sounds
Enjoy free musical entertainment along Penarth's seafront this summer.